Media Watch News Sports

Finalists To Share $66m FIFA Prize Money

FIFA will award the winners of the 2018 World Cup final France $38m in prize money while Croatia, the runners-up in Sunday’s showpiece at Moscow’s Luzhniki stadium will receive $28m. Both amounts are a $3m increase on those awarded to the finalists of the 2014 tournament in Brazil, in which Germany beat Argentina.

France vs Croatia on Sunday
France vs Croatia on Sunday

Belgium will receive $24m for their victory on Saturday in the third-place playoff in St Petersburg, $2m more than fourth-placed England.
In total the pot of prize money for the 2018 finals in Russia has increased by almost $50m, up to $400m this year compared to $358m four years ago.
France competed in their third World Cup final of the last 20 years, having won the trophy for the first time ever on home soil in 1998 and then losing the 2006 final in Germany to Italy in a penalty shootout.
Croatia, playing in their first ever major international final, were beaten in the 1998 semifinals by France.

Related posts

COVID-19: FG Goes Tough, Slams Travel Ban On 100 Nigerians

Quadri Semiu

Unilever, NSN Raise Concern over Iron Deficiency among Women and Children

Desmond Ekeh

Scarcity Of Funds To Persist As Dmo Offers N135bn Bond

Desmond Ekeh

Leave a Comment