Media and Politics News

INEC releases timetable for Edo, Ondo governorship elections

By Gilbert Alasa.
The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the timetable for the conduct of the forthcoming Edo and Ondo states governorship elections slated for Sept. 10 and Nov. 26, respectively.
The announcement is contained in the commission’s daily bulletin issued on Thursday in Abuja.
The commission also released the schedule of activities for both governorship elections in concert with the provisions of the 1999 Constitution (as amended).
According to the Timetable and Schedule of Activities for Edo governorship election, campaigns by political parties should begin by June 12, 2016.
“The conduct of party primaries in Edo, including resolution of disputes arising from the primaries, will take place from June 2 to Monday July 4, 2016.”
It added that the Commission would publish the official Register of Voters for the Edo governorship election on Augt. 11.
“On the same day, INEC will publish the list of nominated candidates by political parties.”
According to the timetable, Sept.8 will be the last day for campaigns in Edo.
For Ondo State poll, the commission scheduled Aug. 28, for commencement of campaigns by political parties in the state.
“The conduct of party primaries, including resolution of disputes arising from the primaries, will take place between Aug. 18 and Sept. 19.
“Publication of the Official Register of Voters for the election will be done on Oct. 27, while publication of list of nominated candidates will be done on the same day.”
It also stated that Nov. 24 had been fixed by the Commission as the last day of campaigns by all political parties.
“Run-off election to the Office of the Governor in the state (if any) will be held within 7 days after the announcement of the result of the election in accordance with the Constitution.”

Similarly the commission has scheduled the Ife Central State Constituency, Osun re-run election for April 9.
“Ife Central State Constituency is made up of one local government, 11 Registration Areas, 168 Polling Units and 197 Voting Points.
“The State Constituency has a total of 95,239 registered voters.”

Related posts

BREAKING: Former CEO of MTN Nigeria Appointed As Board Executive Director At Smile Telecoms

Desmond Ekeh

President Of Peru Backs Guerrero Over World Cup Doping Ban

Desmond Ekeh

Cross-Over Services: Respect 12am to 4am curfew, Sanwo-Olu Warns Lagosians

Quadri Semiu

Leave a Comment