Media and Politics Media Watch News

R-APC Asks Court To Void APC Convention, Sack Oshiomhole, 53 Others

By Ikechukwu Nnochiri

Adams Oshiomhole
Adams Oshiomhole

Abuja—The internal crisis rocking the All Progressives Congress, APC, deepened yesterday, as the Buba Galadima led faction approached the Abuja Division of a Federal High Court, praying it to nullify the National Convention the party held on June 23.
Aside Galadima, other leaders of the Reformed All Progressive Congress, R-APC, that are behind the suit marked FHC/ABJ/CS/1734/18, are Kazeem Afegbua (Edo State), Nicholas Asuzu (Anambra) and Alhaji Hadi Ametuo (Kogi).
The plaintiffs claimed that they instituted the action on behalf of all other National Officers, States Chairmen and State Executives of the APC.
They urged the court to restrain the former governor of Edo State, Adams Oshiomhole and 52 others, from parading themselves as officers of the party or performing any function in such capacity, as their elections and swearing in as officers of APC was invalid, null and void.
Besides Oshiomhole and 52 other officers of the party that emerged through the disputed convention, the APC itself and the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, were listed as the 53rd and 54th defendants in the suit.
Specifically, the plaintiffs urged the court to among other things, declare that having regard to the Constitution of the APC, particularly Article 20 thereof, as well as the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and the Electoral Act, “the election conducted by the Party at Eagle Square Abuja, on the 23rd day of June 2018, is invalid , null and void , particularly the purported election of the following persons into the following respective ofiices:
“National Chairman, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole, National Welfare Secretary, Alhaji Ibrahim Masari, National Financial Secretary, Alhaji Tunde Bello, National Physically Challenged,  Misbahu L. Didi, Zonal Secretary, North-Central Dr. Zakari Muhammed, Zonal Organising, North-Central, Ibrahim M. Abdul, Zonal Women Leader, North-Central, Hajia Hassana Abduliahi, Ex-ofiicio, North-Central, Nelson Abba, Zonal Secretary North-East Abubakar Sadiq Ajia, Ex-officio, North-East, Mallam lsah Azare, Zonal Secretary North-West Tukur A. Gusau, Zonal Organizing Secretary, North-West, Abdulmunab Muhammad.

Related posts

Sosa Fruit Drink Entertains Consumers with Factory Experience

Precious Chinaza

I Can Make Shekau, Others Surrender: Ex-Boko Haram Commander

Desmond Ekeh

Seven-Up Bottling Company Unveils New Beverage Brands Into Nigerian Market

Precious Chinaza

Leave a Comment