News Sports

UEFA EURO 2016: Eighteen Referees Appointed

By Lukmon Oloyede.
Ahead of the UEFAEURO 2016 tournament slated for 10 June to 10 July in France, the UEFA Referees’ Committee has appointed the 18 match officials who will take charge of the 51 fixtures.
The list of referees who have been selected include: Martin Atkinson (England), Felix Brych (Germany), Cüneyt Çakir (Turkey), Mark Clattenburg (England); William Collum (Scotland); Jonas Eriksson (Sweden), Ovidiu Hategan (Romania), Sergey Karasev (Russia), Viktor Kassai (Hungary), Pavel Královec (Czech Republic).
READ ALSO IFMA Nigeria Poised To Expand Capacity Building Programmes in 2016
Others are: Björn Kuipers (Netherlands), Szymon Marciniak (Poland), Milorad Mažić (Serbia), Svein Moen (Norway), Nicola Rizzoli (Italy), Damir Skomina (Slovenia), Clément Turpin (France) and Carlos Velasco Carballo (Spain).
Full referee teams is expected to be announced in February 2016. As at UEFA EURO 2012 and in the European Qualifiers for UEFA EURO 2016, the referees will have added support through the deployment of additional assistant referees. Each refereeing team will consist of a referee, two assistant referees and two additional assistant referees. The majority of assistants and additional assistants will come from the same country as the referee. A third assistant referee will also be appointed and will stay on standby until the start of the tournament.
The full referee teams will be announced in February 2016. The referee teams will arrive in France on 6 June for the final tournament.

Related posts

Senate Passes Bill Prohibiting Discrimination Between BSc/HND Holders

Quadri Semiu

Enyeama Loses Ligue 1 Goalkeeper Prize To Mandanda

Desmond Ekeh

Telegram Messaging App To Launch Pay-For Services In 2021

Quadri Semiu

Leave a Comment