Media and Politics News

BREAKING: NEC Extends Odigie-Oyegun’s Tenure, National Working Committee

The National Executive Council (NEC) of the All Progressives Congress has extended the tenure of its National Chairman John Odigie Oyegun, its National Working Committee (NWC) and other executives by one year, effective from June this year.
This decision was reached at the NEC meeting in Abuja on Tuesday.
The meeting was attended by President Muhammadu Buhari, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Oyegun and other party chieftains.
Senate president, Bukola Saraki and the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara were however absent at the meeting.
Saraki was also absent on Monday night when President Muhammadu Buhari hosted the APC caucus at the presidential villa in Abuja.
However, Governors, Ministers and top members of the ruling party were at the meeting which held at the headquarters of the party in Abuja.
THEWILL recalls that the Forum of APC State Chairmen, during their meeting on Monday ahead of the NEC meeting had “unanimously resolved” to propose a two-year tenure extension for Oyegun.
The APC in a statement by Bolaji Abdullahi, its National Publicity Secretary said: “At the end of the 5th meeting of the All Progressives Congress (APC) National Executive Committee (NEC), it was generally agreed by members to extend the tenure of all elected and appointed officers of the Party in the 36 states, the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) and the national level.
“The current tenure will end on June 30, 2018.
“By this decision, all affected officers will continue in acting capacity for another period of 12 months after the expiration of their current term.
“NEC also by unanimous decision, passed a vote of confidence on President Muhammadu Buhari and the Party’s National Working Committee (NWC), led by the National Chairman, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun.”
The Will

Related posts

Etisalat Boosts Offerings with Ikotun Experience Centre

Desmond Ekeh

2019: How We’ll Pick Presidential Candidate—Northern Leaders

Desmond Ekeh

NNPC Appointments Tear Kachikwu, Baru Apart

Desmond Ekeh

Leave a Comment