Sanwo-Olu Cabinet: Omotoso, 17 Others Face Fresh Screening

The Lagos State Governor, Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu, on Monday, transmitted a second list of cabinet member-nominees to the Lagos State House of Assembly.

This is coming a few weeks after the House confirmed 22 and rejected 17 out of the 39 nominees earlier sent to it for ratification and confirmation.

The immediate past Commissioner for Health in the state, Prof. Akin Abayomi, who was among the 17 nominees rejected by the House, made the new list.

The ad hoc committee led by the Chief Whip, Fatai Mojeed, who screened the previous nominees, will also screen the new set of nominees.

The rejection of the 17 nominees by the House had raised dust among politicians and residents of the state.

The Governance Advisory Council, the apex leadership body of the All Progressives Congress in Lagos, waded into the circumstances surrounding the rejection and directed the governor and the Speaker of the House, Mudashiru Obasa, to meet and settle their differences.

Read also: Sanwo Olu Unveils 39 Commissioners, SAs (Full List)

This was after Obasa raised the alarm on the floor of the House that there were threats of attack on him and his colleagues, warning that those who live in glass houses should not throw stones.

The new nominees, which consist of 18 names, include Dr Afolabi Tajudeen, Mr Oluwaseun Osiyemi, Prof. Akinola Abayomi, Engr Olalere Odusote, Dr Oluwarotimi Wahab-Fashola, Mrs Folashade Ambrose-Medem, Mr Akinyemi Ajigbotafe, Mr Samuel Egube, and Hon. Tolani Akibu.

Others are Mrs Bolaji Dada, Mrs Barakat Bakare, Mr Olugbenga Omotoso, Mr Mosopefolu George, Mr Yekini Agbaje, Dr Olumide Oluyinka, Mr Abayomi Oluyomi, Dr Iyabode Ayoola, and Hon. Sola Giwa.

A letter by Governor Sanwo-Olu thanked the Speaker and members of the House for their diligence and commitment in relation to the recent screening and confirmation of 22 nominees.

“Your rigorous assessment of these nominees in adherence to your constitutional obligations demonstrates your dedication to ensuring a competent and effective council,” Sanwo-Olu said.

The governor said after careful consideration of the 17 names that were rejected, “I have decided to represent a list of nominees which includes a balanced selection of previously presented and new individuals.

“This list represents a broad political spectrum and diverse backgrounds reflective of the rich diversity of our lovely state.”

Obasa gave the screening committee until Thursday, September 7 to report back to the House.

Related posts

AIICO Insurance Marks 60th Anniversary, Applaud Customers’  Loyalty

Desmond Ekeh

Comparing Pep Giadiola’s (Manchester City Coach) Approach and Strategy with De Zebbi (Brighton and Hove Albion Gaffer)

Precious Chinaza

INEC releases timetable for Edo, Ondo governorship elections

Desmond Ekeh

Leave a Comment