News Sports

Suarez Misses Out On Ballon d’Or Finalists

Barcelona forward and former Liverpool striker, Luiz Suarez has failed to make the final three of the 2015 FIFA Ballon d’Or Award scheduled to hold in Zurich on January 16, 2016.
Suarez is snubbed despite netting 40 goals in all competitions for the Catalans — and scoring in the final of the Champions League in June during Barca’s treble winning season.
READ ALSO Former FIRS Boss Advocates Change at WISCAR’s Induction Ceremony
The duo of Lionel Messi and Neymar, all from FC Barcelona will compete with current holder Cristiano Ronaldo for this year’s FIFA Ballon d’Or.
Real Madrid forward Ronaldo has won the award for the past two years, with Messi winning it for each of the four years previous to that. And with Ronaldo named in 2008 too, one of the pair has been named the best player in the world on the last seven occasions.
Neymar, who is the top scorer in La Liga this season with 14 goals, is considered the outsider of the three to win the Ballon d’Or in the first year he has made the shortlist.
The final three has been reduced from an initial list of 23, with Barcelona and Real Madrid providing almost half of those players.
The vote for the award will be made by the captains and head coaches of each men’s national team as well as by international media representatives selected by French publication France Football.

Related posts

Italy Win Euro 2020, Deny England First Trophy In 55 Years

Quadri Semiu

MTN Apologises to Subscribers over SIM Validation

Desmond Ekeh

Poll Timetable: Don’t Be Misguided, Senate Warns INEC

Desmond Ekeh

Leave a Comment