Campus Updates

FG Appoints New Chancellors for Universities

The Federal Government has appointed the Emir of Katsina, His Royal Highness, Alhaji Abdulmumin Kabir Usman, the new Chancellor of the University of Ilorin. He takes over from the Dein of Agbor, His Royal Majesty, Benjamin Ikenchuku Keagborekuzi I, who had held the position since March 20, 2006.
The Minister for Education, Mallam Ibrahim Shekarau, who announced the appointment in a press statement he issued in Abuja, disclosed that 37 new Chancellors were also appointed for 37 other Federal Universities.  
Among the other new Chancellors are: the Emir of Ilorin, His Royal Highness, Alhaji Ibrahim Sulu Gambari, University of Agriculture, Markudi, Benue State; the Sultan of Sokoto, His Eminence, Alhaji (Dr) Sa’ad Abubakar, University of Ibadan; the Attah of Igala, HRM, Michael Idakwo, Ameh Oboni II, Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, EkitiState; and the Shehu of Bornu, HRH Mustapha Umar El-Kanemi, University of Lagos.
Also appointed were: the Emir of Fika, HRH Dr. Muhammadu Abba Ibn Idris, Federal University, Lokoja; the Emir of Zazzau, Alhaji (Dr.) Shehu Idris, Federal University of Technology, Minna; the Oba of Lagos, HRH, Oba Rilwanu Akiolu, University of Sokoto; the Alake of Egbaland, Oba Adedotun Aremu Gbadebo III, Federal University, Ndufu-Alike Ikwo, Ebonyi State; and the Amanayabo of Twon Brass, HRM King Alfred Papa Prieye Diette Spiff, Bayero University, Kano.
Also included are: the Alafin, of Oyo, Oba Lamidi Adeyemi III, University of Maidugur); Gbong Gwon Jos, HRM, Da-Jacob Gyang Buba, Nnamdi Azikwe University, Awka, Anambra State; the Olowo of Owo, Oba (Dr.) Victor Folagbade Olateru-Olagbegi III, University of Jos and the Ooni of Ife, HRH Oba Okunade Sijuade, Olubuse II, University of Nigeria, Nsukka. 
The Minister directed all Vice-Chancellors to get in touch with their new Chancellors to arrange for their appropriate investiture at a convenient time.
The First Class Katsina royal father, who was born in 1951, is the fifth Chancellor of the University of Ilorin since its inception about 40 years ago.
The four previous Chancellors of the University were: the Emir of Bedde, HRH Umar Sulaiman, (1978-1981); the AkuUka of Wukari, HRH K.S.A. MasaIbi II, (1981-2000); the Amayanabo of Nembe, Justice Ambrose Allagoa, (2000-2006) and the Dein of Agbor Kingdom, HRH Benjamin Ikenchuku Keagborekuzi I (2006-2015).

Related posts

Etisalat Begins 2016 Cliqfest At UNIUYO

Desmond Ekeh

2015 Graduate Enrollment At Pan Atlantic University Grows By 29 Percent  

Desmond Ekeh

Fountain-3 Technologies Partners LASG To Promote Culture Consciousness Among Students

Desmond Ekeh

Leave a Comment